I am encouraged to perform better, says Diri as he dedicates award to Bayelsans

Lagos—Bayelsa State Governor, Douye Diri, has said his emergence as Independent Newspapers’ Governor of the Year 2021 is a testament to his achievements so far and a call to do more in office.

Governor Diri, who was honoured as the best in the Good Governance and Responsive Leadership category, received the award at an event held at the Eko Hotel and Suites in Lagos on Saturday night.

Receiving the award, Diri dedicated it to the people of the state and his team.

In a statement by his Chief Press Secretary, Mr. Daniel Alabrah, on Sunday, Senator Diri said the award is for all Bayelsans and members of his Prosperity Administration.

Describing Bayelsa as a peaceful state and the hub of oil and gas activities in Nigeria, Diri said that an enabling environment has been created for investors in various sectors in the state.

He appreciated the media organization for the recognition, noting that he was delighted that his silent achievements were recognized by the newspaper.

According to Diri: “For us, this award is dedicated to my Prosperity Team and indeed the people of Bayelsa State.

“We are happy that our modest efforts are reverberating and have attracted this award. But it is not to be alone as governor but also to the people of Bayelsa and the team of the Prosperity Administration.

“To us, this is a further call to duty. To whom much is given much is expected. So for us, in the face of dwindling resources, the much that we can muster will be able to impact the lives and environment of our state.

“Bayelsa is relatively one of the most peaceful states in Nigeria. It is the hub of oil and gas activities.

“I can assure you that Bayelsa is prepared to host the world. The state now has an airport, which is operational, with two airlines flying to Bayelsa on daily basis from Lagos and Abuja.

“So, the state is open business-wise. We call on investors that Bayelsa is open infrastructurally, spiritually, and physically.”

In his opening remarks, Managing Director of Independent Newspaper Limited, Mr. Steve Omanufeme, stated that the 2021 awards focused on people with outstanding performance in their various fields.

He noted that the awards were to show appreciation to the recipients and expressed the optimism that the gesture would motivate them to do more for society.

Other winners of the night in other categories were: Delta State Governor, Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa, Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos State, Dr. Samuel Ortom (Benue), and their Oyo counterpart, Engr. Seyi Makinde.

Others include; Ijaw nation leader, Chief Edwin Clark, Minister of Transportation, Chief Chibuike Amaechi, his Niger Delta Ministry counterpart, Godswill Akpabio, and the Chief Executive Officer of Air Peace Airline, Chief Allen Onyema among others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


It takes lots of money to inform, educate and entertain audiences, keep a watchful eye on the government as well as promote values that will benefit society through virile journalism.

We therefore request your modest donation to ensure that our news and other content remain freely available and accessible to all netizens.