Sylva resigns as minister for Bayelsa governorship bid

Abuja—The Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, Chief Timipre Sylva, has resigned his position as minister to pursue his ambition as governor of Bayelsa State.

He resigned through a resignation letter addressed to President Muhammadu Buhari on the 14th of March just before the All Progressives Congress (APC) screening of governorship nominees for the Bayelsa gubernatorial election last week Saturday, 25th March.

The resignation letter by Timipre Sylva

Sylva had served as Governor of Bayelsa in the past, for one full term between 2008 and 2012. At the time, he was a member of the Peoples Democratic Party. had gathered that some APC members in Bayelsa State had called on the national leadership of the party to disqualify Sylva from contesting the governorship primaries of the party over an alleged refusal to resign his position as a minister.

Sylva will square-off against five other aspirants including Prof. Ongoebi Etebu Maureen, Chief David Lyon, Great Joshua Maciver, Barr. Festus Daumiebi, Chief Timipre Sylva and Hon. Isikima Ogbomade Johnson for the APC’s governorship ticket in the party’s primary on the 14th of April.

The Bayelsa governorship election is slated to hold in November, later this year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


It takes lots of money to inform, educate and entertain audiences, keep a watchful eye on the government as well as promote values that will benefit society through virile journalism.

We therefore request your modest donation to ensure that our news and other content remain freely available and accessible to all netizens.