Flood: George Turnah inaugurates Flood Intervention Committee, earmarks N7m for victims, hails Diri

Yenagoa—The Special Assistant to the Bayelsa State Governor on Public Affairs and Social Orientation, Hon. Alabh George Turnah, on Friday, inaugurated the George Turnah Flood Intervention Committee.

The committee which was inaugurated at the 4+4 Prosperity Movement Secretariat in Yenagoa is expected to manage his personal and direct intervention to flood victims in Ogbia Ward 9 (Kolo Ward), Ogbia Local Government Area of the state.

In his opening speech, Turnah sympathized with victims of this year’s flood and adjudged it to be worse than that of 2012.

“I feel compelled to offer a hand of fellowship to our people. And this is done to complement the efforts of the Douye Diri-led prosperity administration to provide succor to persons and communities directly impacted and affected by this year’s flood across the state.

“I feel the need to identify with my people and accordingly, I have approved the sum of N2m to be distributed to the weak, the very weak vulnerable victims of this year’s flood disaster,” he said.

Turnah noted that through the George Turnah Foundation, he has also committed a total sum of N5m as post-flood recovery funds for direct intervention in the areas of medicals, farming and business recovery.

According to him, “The money will be distributed by the committee. And let me acknowledge that this year’s flood affects every individual in Kolo ward 9 irrespective of political party affiliations therefore, it is for everyone in Kolo ward 9 and not for only members of my political party, the PDP.

“I want to thank our governor and our father for his timely intervention and his show of care for our people.

“On behalf of our people, I appreciate His Excellency for his visit to our ward and community, which enabled him to see things for himself especially the extent of the devastation.

“We appreciate the support to our people both in cash and kind extended to our people. This to me is a clear demonstration of leadership. And this how a leadership that works for the people should respond.”
Read also: Flood: Bayelsa govt knocks minister over comments, says FG abandoned its responsibility
Turnah, a Member of the Order of the Niger (MON) revealed that membership of the committee cuts across party divide and interests, while thanking the leadership of the APC in Kolo ward 9 and other parties for allowing their members to serve in the committee.

In his acceptance speech, the Chairman of the committee, Chief Saturday Ederi charged members to work in unison to achieve the aims and objectives of the committee. While Barr. Awudumapu Agoridi in his vote of thanks applauded Turnah for his demonstration of love to his people by reaching out to them financially.

Members of the committee include Chief David Happiness, Deputy Chairman, Nathaniel Adogu, Secretary and Afebo James Treasurer.

Other members are James Okuata, Grace Collins Azibabagir, Agama Suoyo, ThankGod Odo, Brave Agundu, Benjamin Marabhin, Justice Turnah, Technical Adviser, Akiks Olali, Obi F. Jacob, Confidence Edoghotu, Obebator Ominigbo and Gbalipre Saturday.

Kotor Olali, Enaikato Robert and Epere Rainbow were also appointed as members of the committee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


It takes lots of money to inform, educate and entertain audiences, keep a watchful eye on the government as well as promote values that will benefit society through virile journalism.

We therefore request your modest donation to ensure that our news and other content remain freely available and accessible to all netizens.