Lyon, Daumiebi reject Bayelsa APC primary, insist exercise marred with irregularities

Yenagoa—Festus Daumiebi, an aspirant in the just concluded governorship primary election of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Bayelsa State has rejected the outcome of the exercise. had reported that Timipre Sylva, immediate past Minister of State for Petroleum Resources was declared winner of the primary by Major General A.T Jubrin—the APC election committee chairman—after reportedly garnering a total of 52,061 votes.

In a statement on Sunday, Daumiebi stated that “on Friday the 14th of April 2023 some card-carrying members of the All Progressives Congress turned out at various wards to cast their vote in what was promised to be a free, fair and credible primary election.

“They waited all day but sadly there was no election in the wards across the State as officials of the party who were sent to conduct the election failed to turn up. Neither were their electoral materials seen in the said Wards.”

He maintained that the election was marred by irregularities and was heavily compromised, accusing party officials of failing to abide by the party guidelines and agreed processes.

“Upon reaching the Party secretariat on Saturday 15th April, I was shocked to observe that ‘heavy numbers have been concocted for their preferred aspirant and then a return was made in the open as programmed.

“Nevertheless, let me express my profound appreciation to all those who worked tirelessly for the new Bayelsa project. Though you were deprived of the opportunity to vote do not despair,” he said.

He further urged his supporters to remain calm and law-abiding as he sets to explore all legal means to challenge the outcome of the exercise.

Meanwhile, another aspirant, David Lyon has also rejected the results of the party’s governorship primary election describing it as “irresponsible and criminal.”

While condemning the process, he called on the National Working Committee (NWC) and the National Executive Committee (NEC) of the party to reject the results as declared by the primary election committee.

Lyon who made this known in a statement on Sunday stated that “it is with utmost resentment and disgust that I read in both electronic and print media of APC Governorship primary election results, declaring Chief Timipre Sylva as the winner by Maj Gen. A.T. Jibrin (rtd) led Primary Election Committee.

“It is a well-known and accepted fact by every well-meaning member of APC in Bayelsa State that the Gubernatorial primary election scheduled for the 14th day of April was not conducted all over the 105 wards of Bayelsa State.

“People waited from morning till night on the day of the election and there was no distribution of election materials neither was there any presence of election officials.

“I equally waited in my Olugbobiri Ward Olodiama II Ward 4 from 8 am till 8 pm to no avail.

“It is therefore very saddening to learn of a fraudulent declaration of a result emanating from that exercise.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


It takes lots of money to inform, educate and entertain audiences, keep a watchful eye on the government as well as promote values that will benefit society through virile journalism.

We therefore request your modest donation to ensure that our news and other content remain freely available and accessible to all netizens.